Chronology of Events in The Novel Wuthering Heights

Also Read

1500. Wuthering Heights built by a Hareton Earnshaw.

1757. Birth of Hindley Earnshaw and probably of Ellen Dean.

1762. Birth of Edgar Linton.

1765. Birth of Catherine Earnshaw.

1766. Birth of Isabella Linton.

1771. Mr. Earnshaw brings Heathcliff to Wuthering Heights.

1773. Death of Mrs. Earnshaw.

1774. Hindley sent away to college.

1777. Marriage of Hindley and Frances. October: Death of Mr. Earnshaw; return of Hindley. November: Catherine goes to stay at Thrusheross Grange. Christmas: Catherine returns home to Wuthering Heights.

1778. June: Birth of Hareton. Autumn: Death of Frances.

1780. Heathcliff runs away. Death of Mr. and Mrs. Linton.

1783. April: Marriage of Catherine and Edgar. September: Heathcliff returns.

1784. January: Marriage of Heathcliff and Isabella. 20 March: Birth of Cathy; death of Catherine. September: Death of Hindley; birth of Linton Heathcliff.

1797. July: Death of Isabella; Cathy visits Wuthering Heights and meets Hareton, Linton, brought to Thrushcross Grange and then taken to Wuthering Heights.

1800. 20 March: Cathy meets Heathcliff and sees Linton again.

1801. August: Marriage of Cathy and Linton. September: Death of Edgar. October: Death of Linton. November: Lockwood goes to Thrushcross Grange and visits Wuthering Heights.

1802. January: Lockwood returns to London. May: Death of Heathcliff. September: Lockwood returns to Thrushcross Grange.

1803. January: Marriage of Cathy and. Hareton.

Previous Post Next Post